Craziness

Okay, the past few days have just been crazy and the craziness has to stop. Soon. Maybe today…tomorrow at the latest. It’s time to focus on the words again and not on the numbers.

If you’re a new author and you’ve just been published you probably know what I mean.

You just have to know if another book has sold since you’ve last been on the computer.

“Honey, what are you doing?”

“Just going to check something on the computer…”

“It’s late, aren’t you going to get some sleep?”

“Yeah, yeah, in just a minute…”

“Uh huh.”

And if you’re a married writer you probably know that ‘uh huh’ by now too.

“I’m going to go write for a little while.”

“Just a little while?”

“Yep, probably no more than 30 minutes.”

“Uh huh.”

Let there be no misunderstanding — my wife is great! She is very understanding of my need to write and most of the time she let’s me write without any interruptions. And the interruptions are good ones…

“Honey, you need to eat…”

“What…?”

“Eat…you haven’t eaten all day.”

“Oh…yeah…sorry…Holy Crap is that the time?”

“Yeah.”

“Wow. I didn’t mean to write for this long.”

“It’s okay, I didn’t want to disturb you since you looked like you were on a roll.”

See what I mean. She’s awesome. She only disturbed me when she realized I’d probably pass out on the computer like an idiot from lack of food and water.

Of course, she knows I get that way sometimes.

When I was much younger and still living with my parents I woke up one morning with an idea and started writing. I wrote all day long. My mom must have given me food–I don’t remember. I wrote from 6am until past midnight. I think I even fell asleep at my desk. Next morning I stumbled out of my room and noticed that the house across the street had been damaged…

“What happened across the street?”

“Their house caught on fire.”

“Really?”

“Yeah…fire trucks came out lights and sirens…didn’t you hear them?”

“Nope.”

That kind of craziness is fine with me. It’s times like that I really get a lot of writing work done. It’s why I have so many alarms set on my phone–because I’m afraid I’d be a horrible dad and write through the times I’d need to pick up my kids from school (and NO I’ve never been THAT BAD!) 

But the craziness of having to check the numbers to see if another ebook has sold will (should?) subside, I’m sure. I know when I’d send submissions out in the past I was always anxious to check the mail….at least until the novelty of it wore off. And I’m guessing in another day or two the novelty of this will wear off a bit too.

Not that I don’t get excited when the numbers go up–and before you start thinking, “Geez, what a greedy bastard this guy must be–” No, it’s not (just) about the money. Sure money is nice. It pays bills. But a big part of being a writer for me is entertaining people. Yes, even if no one ever read a word I wrote, I’d still have the need to write…but I truly enjoy knowing that someone out in the big world is reading my work. And hopefully being entertained too. If you are, wonderful! Please let me know.

And if you’re not…I’m sorry. Please know I’m trying my best. And I’ll keep trying.

Okay…I think I’m all rambled-out now. Time to go work on my new novel.

Have a great day!

Tags: , ,

About inkcompetentwriter

Author of The Penitent Assassin available at Amazon.com and Smashwords.com.

Leave a Reply

