Hello…

The Penitent Assassin’s Cover Art.

I always feel a little odd composing a biography about myself and writing it in the third person. I mean, should I include something like this:

“Shawn Wickersheim was born in Illinois on a Monday and when he was still little a lady told his mother, ‘It’s good he was born on a Monday, that way if he ever becomes President and they decide to honor his birth date, we’ll get an extra three-day weekend each year…'”

Talk about pressure!

I have to become president and rank up there with the greats just so this lady gets an extra three day weekend every year?

I went the other way. I started writing stories. Long-hand. (Which explains the title – Ink-Competent Writer) I wrote so much I finished packs of pens and stacks of notebooks. I gained a blister on the inside edge of my middle finger. And then I worked on an old typewriter. One of those really old ones where you had to mash the keys just to get it to work. I wasn’t a big fan of that typewriter back then, but I wish I had it now. Even if just to sit on my desk.

And then the desktop computer came along and after a good year or so of trying to get used to composing on it, I fell in love. No more white-out. No more blisters. No more pens–except when I’m first starting a novel. I LOVE writing down notes about characters or plots or whatever in notebooks longhand. Even now, I’ll be cleaning the basement and stumble across one of those long-forgotten notebooks and more times than not, I’ll be stunned to find a mostly-plotted out story just waiting for me to develop.

Which brings us to now. After quite a few years of working on The Penitent Assassin (with the occasional side-tracks into other books, short stories and a couple of scripts), it’s finally done. Mallor (the main character) is loose. He’s not just mine anymore. I’d like to think someday I’ll visit with him again, but for now, I’m working on a new story, a new world and a new character.

Meanwhile, I hope you go check out The Penitent Assassin (currently available at Amazon.com and Smashwords.com). If you do, and you like it, tell a friend. Tell two. Hell, tell ’em all. And if you don’t….well….you can just tell me. Quietly. Okay?

Thanks for visiting.

Darn it…do I have to end it with a third person narrative?

“….after publishing The Penitent Assassin, Shawn Wickersheim split his time between promoting his first ebook and working on his next one. He hopes to have it complete in early 2012.”

The Penitent Assassin at Amazon.com:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005JKR95U

The Penitent Assassin at Smashwords.com: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/84281

Short description about The Penitent Assassin:

For Mallor, fate is a four-letter word, revenge is an ignoble quest and promises are just words other people use to make themselves feel good. He’s nobody’s hero, but when his daughter is kidnapped by a sadistic magic abuser bent on ruling the world, Mallor finds himself making impossible promises, pursuing a revenge that will likely get him killed and realizing he’s become destiny’s tool.

Tags:

About inkcompetentwriter

Author of The Penitent Assassin available at Amazon.com and Smashwords.com.

4 responses to “Hello…”

  1. Robin Lythgoe says :

    I am glad you are not president – I think you wouldn’t have time for writing fantasy novels, which I find *far* more entertaining and exciting than autobiographical (though probably also fantasy) stuff from political figures. Your book sounds intriguing, and I love the cover. I’ve added it to my list of books to read on Goodreads (thank goodness for a list I won’t misplace). Lovin’ the blog, too. 🙂

  2. hotshot bald cop says :

    Well put from a great blogger

Leave a Reply

