Confession Time for Author of The Penitent Assassin

That’s right. This is confession time for me.

…..I tend to be a bit on the shy side.

“What…?!?!”

I know. You and the voice had the same thought, didn’t you? How can this guy be ‘shy’? I seem very outgoing and talkative and friendly and…

“And you have a blog! You tell people ‘stuff’. How can you be shy?!”

I’m not shy around people I know…

“But…millions of people could be reading this blog!”

Millions? Ummm….while that would be incredible, I don’t think I need to worry about that any time soon.

“I don’t know…you haven’t told your blog readers what you just did!”

I’m getting to it! Okay friends (see, I call you ‘friends’ that way I’m not so….shy), I survived my first ‘interview’.

“Survived? Oh come on, don’t be so melodramatic! You were able to edit your responses…thank God!…some of the first drafts of those answers were BAD!!! And you call yourself a writer…”

Hey, it’s okay for the first draft to be crappy! I even said so in the interview…

“Well, why don’t you include the link already so people can go check it out!”

Right. If you’d like to read more about my first interview, please head over to my good friend and fellow author Walter Shuler’s blog at: http://hallalitriocht.com/ww-an-interview-with-shawn-wickersheim-author-of-the-penitent-assassin/348

“Are we done confessing stuff now?”

For the time being.

“Good, ’cause I’ve got some secrets I didn’t want to share just yet…”

Shhhhh.

Have a great day, All.

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

About inkcompetentwriter

Author of The Penitent Assassin available at Amazon.com and Smashwords.com.

5 responses to “Confession Time for Author of The Penitent Assassin”

  1. inkcompetentwriter says :

    Wait a minute. What are you doing here with this blog post? Confessing you’re shy? Why? I know your true motive, you were using that bit to promote your interview with Walter. Weren’t you? Admit it. Yes? I knew it. But, I really am a shy person. I’m not a huge fan of public speaking and when I’ve been on stage, I’m rather nervous. On stage? That’s right, friends, I’ve been on stage, in musicals…where I actually sang. See, I’m confessing even more info here. Making up for that rather weak blog entry above. To think I only confessed I was ‘shy’. Especially since I’m also working on an Indie movie where I play one of the villains. One? Yeah…it’s a long story…material perhaps for a different blog post. Oh, you’re teasing your blog readers now….yeah, that’s good.

    Have a great day, All. 🙂

    • peterhobbs1 says :

      🙂 good post, and believe it or not I think most writers are the same way, painfully introverted but forced to mingle to ply their craft. I look forward to poking around you blog.

      • inkcompetentwriter says :

        I wouldn’t describe myself as ‘painfully introverted’, but I’m also not a ‘life-of-the-party’ extrovert either. I’m comfortable enough talking to most people about many things, especially at the bookstore where I work, but there’s a big difference (for me at least) between talking to people about books, current events, life in general what-have-you and talking about myself and my own book(s). I understand the need to ply my craft and to get the word out that my book exists–but understanding that need doesn’t make the task any more comfortable for me. I’d love to focus primarily on the writing side, however, since I chose to be an Indie Author, I knew I’d have to adapt and grow more comfortable with the role of promoter as well.

        Thanks for stopping by and checking out my blog. Have a great day.

  2. deshipley says :

    1) Congrats on the interview, shy guy!
    2) Believe it or not, I’ve got in-person people issues, myself. (Oh yes, oh yes…)
    3) That bit in your answer about synopses being unnatural? Total agreement on my end. Thousands of words, boiled down to a few hundred or less: Who in the world came up with that??

    • inkcompetentwriter says :

      1) Thank you, shy lady!
      2) I don’t believe it. Not at all. Nope. Won’t convince me either. 🙂
      3) Crazy people?

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you have a great weekend. Big Halloween plans? Besides writing, of course. Writing anything scary? Oh…that reminds me of something…something I might use for a new blog post…(funny how the brain works when functioning–more or less–on such little sleep!)

Leave a Reply

