The Need for Catching Up

After spending a good chunk of 2011 working on the final edits for The Penitent Assassin and getting it published online, I’m now finding we’re closing in on the end of the year and I need to catch up on many of the other projects in my life that have been neglected.

Primarily…The House.

If you’re a homeowner, you know, the projects around the house are never-ending. There is always SOMETHING that needs to be done. General cleaning to DIY weekend projects to complete overhauls. When it comes to home improvement projects, I’ve often found the saying, “If you have the time, you don’t have the money, and if you have the money, you don’t have the time”, to be so true. Case in point, a while back I bought a can of paint to use in the unfinished basement. I had the wall board too. I just needed the time to install the walls and paint them. That weekend was supposed to have been in July. Instead, I hurt my foot while running. Tore up a couple of tendons and broke a nerve. Needless to say, I was in no shape for climbing ladders, hanging wall board or painting. That project got put on hold. Unfortunately, I’d already cleared out the unfinished room and had piled the boxes up in the family room. Sooooo….the lower level of our house has been a bit of a disaster area for the past few months. Now that my foot is better (though still not completely healed), I’ve hung the walls and painted them. Yea! Cross one item off the never-ending ‘To-Do’ List. Next up, remove the boxes from the family room and store them in the newly created, semi-finished storage room/my office space so that both it and the family room are nice and neat again.

Once that’s done, I’ll be able to rearrange the family room because we’re having the kids put more of their toys downstairs rather than keeping them upstairs in the living room. (And if you have young kids, you probably know their toys end up EVERYWHERE in the house!)

Oh, and we’re hosting a birthday party for the kids this weekend. The entire house needs to be put into ‘party’ ready state. And then, in a few weeks, we’ll be decorating for the holidays.

And I’ll likely be working some extra hours each week because we’re closing in on the holiday shopping season.

And the leaves are finally dropping on our trees in the back yard. I’ll need to get them raked into the front yard along the curb so the city will remove them for us.

At least our Indie Movie is progressing nicely now. Initially, I thought we were going to need to film a few more scenes, but after considering our options (one of our actors moved away and I’d attempted to rewrite a section of the script to explain his absence) we’ve decided to shorten the movie a bit instead and simply use footage we’ve already shot to complete it. The magic is in the editing, and I’ll leave the editing to my accomplished friend who has been shooting and editing it all along. There’s a very short scene we still need to shoot, but we can’t shoot it until it snows, so until that happens I’m free to turn my creative attention back to my current WIP novel.

Oh, and while I don’t believe I’ve neglected my family while editing The Penitent Assassin (they’re all really good at letting me know when I’m spending too much time in the fantasy worlds I create) I’m planning on spending as much of the holiday season as I can with them. Thanksgiving is an all-day event split between our two families. One full turkey dinner with all the fixings at precisely noon and another at 4:30pm. By 7pm or so, I’m ready to roll into bed more stuffed I think than either of those birds ever were. Christmas has become a 2-3 day event lately and I don’t see that changing any time soon either. And of course, with Christmas comes the shopping and the wrapping (I don’t mind the wrapping. I’ve been doing all of it for years. I’ll pop in some Christmas movies, Christmas Vacation, The Bishop’s Wife (w/Cary Grant), It’s a Wonderful Life, Die Hard….YES! It IS a Christmas movie!!! and spend the day wrapping).

So…if the regularity of my blog posts thin a bit during the next few months, I’m sorry. Know that I’m attempting to catch up on my household projects (I think replacing the bathroom sink is next on the list), visit with my extended family, and edit my next book so it will be available in early 2012.

There’s just so much to do and so little time to do it in — isn’t that the story of most of our lives?

I know it’s early, but I’ll wish you all the best in this upcoming holiday season.

Tags: , ,

About inkcompetentwriter

Author of The Penitent Assassin available at Amazon.com and Smashwords.com.

4 responses to “The Need for Catching Up”

  1. Lorijo Metz says :

    I have to say, my favorite part of this post is when you pointed out that Die Hard was a Christmas movie. It is, isn’t it! This gives our family an entirerly new movie to watch in December. Thank you!

    • inkcompetentwriter says :

      Die Hard 1 and 2 are both ‘Christmas’ movies. As is the first Lethal Weapon. Batman Returns (with Penguin and Catwoman) is as well. You have to look for it, but Robert DeNiro’s Ronin is also a ‘Christmas’ movie. Some more include, The Bourne Identity, First Blood (yep, the first Rambo movie is a ‘Christmas’ movie!), The Long Kiss Goodnight (if you haven’t seen this, you really should), Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (another movie you really, really should watch if you haven’t) and Entrapment. This is in no way a complete list, but at least it’s a start.

      Thanks for stopping by and visiting my blog. 🙂

  2. Ciara Ballintyne says :

    Oh yes, so much to do, and so little time… no, wait, I’ve got that confused, the actual saying is so many idiots, too few bullets… *shrug* oh well, it works both ways.

    At least you only need to rake the leaves to the gutter. Hereyou’d have to sweep them up and but them in your bin as well.

    So pleased to hear DIE HARD is a Christmas movie!

    • inkcompetentwriter says :

      As for the leaves, if you get them out to the curb in time, the city will remove them for you…however, if you have a tree that refuses to drop its leaves until after the city is done with that program — which we do — you can either bag them up and have them removed (for a fee) or compost them. We compost them.

      I think I’ve heard your version of that saying too. 🙂 Sounds about right…

      Yep, DIE HARD is an awesome Christmas movie. One of my favorite…non-traditional…Christmas movies. I try to watch it every year while I’m wrapping Christmas presents.

      Thanks for stopping by – have a great day!

Leave a Reply

