Where in the World Have I Been?

Hello again, Friends! Yes, I’m still alive. I know, I know, it’s been a few months since last I posted anything here and I’m sure you were all worried about–

Seriously! You think people were actually worried about you? WOW! What an ego! When did this happen?

Okay, okay, settle down I was just warming up and–

Enough with the chit-chat, let’s get down to business here. If people are here, it’s because they want to know what’s going on so spill it already!

Fine. I’ll forget about the drum roll and just get on with it. The reason I haven’t been blogging much lately is because I’ve been busy editing my new fantasy book.

What? That’s it? C’mon, you know you’ve been goofing off too! Admit it, you spent a few weeks playing Dragon Age: Origins on your new PlayStation 3, you lazy bum!

Yes, that is true. I was feeling a little burnt out after spending the bulk of 2011 editing The Penitent Assassin, and so I took a little time off to relax and recharge my creative brain. And I think the time off has done me a world of good. I’m eager to tear into the new book and get the final edit done – hopefully by summer.

Early summer?!?

Ummmm….well….maybe mid-summer? I’d love to have it available sooner, but I also have a number of home improvement projects that must get finished this summer too. Every bedroom in the house needs to have some work done on it – including painting. And the lawnwork….don’t even get me started on what I have to do with my yard!

Yeah, yeah, yeah – you have to do some manual labor. Tell us more about this new book!

It’s called “The Rush of Betrayal” and–

The Rush of Betrayal? What the hell is that supposed to mean?

Well….you know that feeling you get when you do something exciting, or naughty, or maybe a little of both – that’s ‘the rush’…

Ahhhh. I see what you did there. The Rush of Betrayal…..someone is going to enjoy being just a little bit naughty in this book, aren’t they?

Oh yeah, you could say that. And while it is not a direct sequel to The Penitent Assassin, it will be set in the same world – just in a different geographical location.

Speaking of sequels….will there be a sequel to The Penitent Assassin? You’ve actually been asked that by more than a few people now.

Initially, I had intended The Penitent Assassin to be a stand-alone novel, and it is, but lately I’ve been having thoughts about how the story could continue….and I’ve had a few new characters pop up and start demanding my attention. And a few old ones as well. They’ll just have to wait a little longer – until The Rush of Betrayal is finished.

Will you be releasing any samples ahead of the book’s release?

I think so.

When?

Soon. I’ll likely release the first few chapters here before the book’s release.

Okay…good enough. Anything else you want to share before you head off to work?

Only that I want to thank everyone for visiting my blog, and for checking out my book, The Penitent Assassin. I also want to thank all the people who have read and reviewed my book, either on Amazon, Smashwords, Barnes & Noble or over on Goodreads.com. Thank you very, very much! I’m so happy that you’ve enjoyed Mallor’s story.

One last thing – what the hell is with the ‘rose petal’ joke?

<laughs> You’ll just have to read The Penitent Assassin and find out for yourself.

Okay, Friends – I hate to cut things off here, but another reason I haven’t been blogging as much lately is that I’ve been working more hours at the Indie Bookstore in town. I love working there and helping others to discover so many of the authors I love to read.

Wait, wait, wait – you didn’t answer the question. “Where in the World Have I Been?”

Ahh, you’re right. I’ve been in Mallor’s and Lord Ian Weatherall’s world.

Lord Ian Weatherall?

Yep. The ‘hero’ from The Rush of Betrayal. You’ll be reading more about him and his wild adventures very soon.

That’s all for now, Friends – Have a great day and Happy Reading!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About inkcompetentwriter

Author of The Penitent Assassin available at Amazon.com and Smashwords.com.

6 responses to “Where in the World Have I Been?”

  1. deshipley says :

    Oh… you’re *not* dead?…
    *quickly changes plans and tries to look innocent*
    Welcome back, Shawn and Voice-in-Head! Good to see you again, and glad to hear you’ve been getting creative stuff done. (:

    • inkcompetentwriter says :

      Thanks – it’s nice to be back. Yeah, let’s blame that darn creative stuff for my lack of posts lately, it’s not like the creative stuff will argue with me about it–

      What? What’s that…?

      Oh crap, the ‘creative stuff’ heard me. Shhhh….

      🙂

  2. Lorijo Metz says :

    Don’t tell Shawn, but I like the voice in his head better.

    • inkcompetentwriter says :

      Don’t tell the voice in my head, but I like it better too. Of course, if I tell the voice that, it might get a big head and….well….I’m not thinking that would feel all that good. It’d probably lead to headaches or….something…

      🙂

  3. Kirkus MacGowan says :

    I suppose it’s good to see you back… Now I feel spoiled with our conversations on Twitter, haha.

    You have a book description for your latest work yet? I wouldn’t mind getting a peak at it. “HINT HINT” Would probably work well for a blog post too. 🙂

    Chat soon man. 🙂

Leave a Reply

